By ipomarket.in Editorial Team · Last reviewed: 2026-09-13
Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice. IPO investments are subject to market risks. Please read the offer document carefully and consult a SEBI-registered investment advisor before investing.
For decades, Indian companies chasing foreign capital looked outward — to Singapore, Dubai, London or New York — using instruments such as American Depository Receipts (ADRs) and Global Depository Receipts (GDRs). GIFT City was built to pull some of that activity back home. In early 2026, that ambition reached a visible milestone: XED Executive Development launched what is being described as the first-ever initial public offering (IPO) at GIFT City, a dollar-denominated issue listed on the International Financial Services Centre (IFSC) exchanges.
This article explains what happened, how a GIFT City IPO differs from a regular Indian listing, and what the development signals for NRIs, foreign portfolio investors and the broader market. It is analysis, not a recommendation.
What is GIFT City and the IFSC?
Gujarat International Finance Tec-City (GIFT City) is a joint initiative of the Gujarat Government and the Government of India, developed as a greenfield smart city intended to host domestic and international financial and IT firms. Within it sits the International Financial Services Centre (IFSC), a specially designated zone that operates under a single regulator — the International Financial Services Centres Authority (IFSCA).
The practical point for investors: the IFSC lets companies raise foreign capital, transact internationally and trade in global currencies without routing through overseas exchanges. Two exchanges operate inside the zone — the NSE International Exchange (NSE IX) and the India International Exchange (India INX), a BSE company. Both run extended global trading windows aligned with international market hours.
According to industry sources, GIFT City now hosts 900-plus registered entities and 25-plus international banks. Treat those as reported figures rather than audited counts.
The XED Executive Development IPO
XED Executive Development filed its Red Herring Prospectus with the Registrar of Companies to raise US$12 million. Key confirmed details from multiple sources:
- Issue size: US$12 million
- Price band: US$10 to US$10.5 per share
- Currency: Fully US dollar-denominated — investors subscribe and trade in foreign currency
- Subscription window: Opened 6 March 2026; the closing date was reportedly extended to 24 March 2026
- Listing venues: NSE IX and India INX, both inside GIFT City
- Sole book running lead manager: Global Horizon Capital Advisors IFSC
- Bankers: DBS Bank and RBL Bank
- Registrar: KFin Technologies
XED operates in the global executive education and professional training segment, with business reportedly spanning more than 25 countries across India, the Middle East, Southeast Asia and North America. The company's detailed financials were not available in our research, so we are not commenting on valuation. The final subscription numbers, any grey market activity and the allotment outcome were also not disclosed in the sources we reviewed.
If you are new to how grey market signals work and why they are unreliable, our explainer on what IPO GMP is and how it works is a useful primer. Just note that grey market data for a dollar-denominated IFSC listing behaves very differently from a domestic mainboard issue, and we found no verified GMP for XED.
How a GIFT City IPO differs from a regular Indian listing
The headline differences are structural, not cosmetic.
Currency. A GIFT City IPO is denominated in a foreign currency (US dollars in XED's case). For an overseas investor, that removes the friction of converting into and out of rupees. It also means the offering carries currency exposure that a rupee-denominated NSE or BSE listing does not.
Regulator and timeline. IFSC listings fall under IFSCA, not SEBI. IFSCA reportedly reviews IPO draft documents within 21 days, compared with SEBI's typical 30-day window. Faster processing is a selling point, though it is only one factor among many.
Eligibility bar. Under IFSCA's final norms, a company seeking to list must have generated at least US$20 million in operating revenue in the prior fiscal year, achieved a pre-tax profit of at least US$1 million, and carry a post-issue market capitalisation of at least US$25 million. The final rules also permit unlisted entities and Special Purpose Acquisition Companies (SPACs) to launch IPOs on IFSC exchanges.
Who can invest. The XED issue was open to eligible investors under the IFSCA framework — including Non-Resident Indians (NRIs), foreign portfolio investors, institutional investors and other permitted overseas participants. This is a different access map from a standard domestic IPO. If you want to understand the domestic categories for comparison, see our guide on QIB, NII and retail investor categories.
For a broader sense of the domestic 2026 pipeline that most Indian retail investors will actually apply to, our upcoming IPOs 2026 list tracks mainboard and SME names.
The regulatory backbone is still being built
A first listing is a starting line, not a finish. Two developments are worth watching.
Market abuse framework. IFSCA has notified the IFSCA (Prohibition of Market Abuse in Securities Markets) Regulations, 2026, consolidating rules on insider trading, fraudulent and manipulative practices, and unfair trading into a single set aimed at investor protection. A credible market-abuse regime matters for confidence in any young marketplace.
Dual listing. A framework that would let a company list simultaneously in the domestic market and at GIFT City remains under discussion between SEBI and IFSCA. Reported challenges include aligning depositories, enabling seamless transfer of securities across jurisdictions, managing price arbitrage, setting norms for common offer documents and coordinating the two regulators. As of early September 2026 this was still in development, not finalised.
What the reported pipeline looks like
Beyond XED, reporting suggests interest is building. Sources cited by financial media pointed to nearly half a dozen companies — including an edtech firm — initiating listing discussions, typically to raise US$10-15 million each, with one reportedly close to filing draft documents. Bengaluru-based cloud consulting firm Cloud That was named as reportedly preparing a dollar-denominated offering on the IFSC exchanges.
All of that is reported and unconfirmed. None of these names had confirmed filings in our research, and timelines and participants can change. We flag them as pipeline signals, not established facts.
How to read this milestone
For Indian retail investors, the immediate practical takeaway is modest: a $12 million executive-education IPO on a dollar-denominated exchange is not something most domestic retail applicants will access, and it should not be confused with the mainboard and SME issues that dominate the calendar.
The longer-term significance is about infrastructure. XED proves that a genuine international capital-raising platform can function on Indian soil, under an Indian regulator, in a global currency. Whether that translates into meaningful deal flow depends on the depth of the investor base, the strength of the market-abuse and disclosure regime, and whether the dual-listing bridge to the domestic market is eventually built. Those are open questions, and the honest position today is to watch, not to conclude.
FAQ
Was XED Executive Development really the first GIFT City IPO?
Based on multiple reports, XED's dollar-denominated issue is described as the first-ever IPO launched at GIFT City. The core details — US$12 million size, US$10-10.5 price band, and listing on NSE IX and India INX — were carried across several credible sources. Final subscription and allotment outcomes were not disclosed in our research.
Can Indian resident retail investors apply to a GIFT City IPO?
The XED issue was described as open to eligible investors under the IFSCA framework, including NRIs, foreign portfolio investors and institutional participants. The rules governing resident retail participation in IFSC-denominated offerings differ from domestic IPO rules, and we could not verify the exact eligibility for resident retail investors from our sources. Check the offer document and IFSCA guidelines before assuming access.
How is a GIFT City IPO different from an NSE or BSE listing?
A GIFT City IPO is denominated in a foreign currency, regulated by IFSCA rather than SEBI, and listed on the IFSC exchanges. IFSCA's document review is reportedly 21 days versus SEBI's typical 30 days. Eligibility thresholds and the investor base also differ.
What is the tax treatment for NRI or foreign investors in GIFT City IPOs?
Sources describe GIFT City as offering a favourable, largely tax-neutral ecosystem, but we did not find specific, verified details on TDS, withholding or capital gains treatment for these offerings. This needs cross-checking against current Finance Ministry and IFSCA circulars, and professional tax advice is essential.
Are more GIFT City IPOs coming?
Reports point to several companies, including an edtech firm and cloud consulting firm Cloud That, exploring dollar-denominated listings of roughly US$10-15 million. These are reported discussions, not confirmed filings, and timelines may change.
Last reviewed: 2026-09-13. Figures and pipeline references are based on the research available at the time of writing; please verify against the offer document and official IFSCA/exchange disclosures before acting.